Buhari approves special salary scale for teachers, extends years of service from 35 to 40 years

Buhari approves special salary scale for teachers, extends years of service from 35 to 40 years

President Buhari has approved a new special salary scale, including provisions for rural posting allowance, science teachers allowance and peculiar allowance, for teachers in basic and secondary schools. Also, the years of service of teachers has been extended from 35 to 40 years

Represented by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, at an event to mark the 2020 World Teachers Day, in Abuja, President Buhari said the special packages are to attract and retain the best brains in the teaching profession and also encourage best graduates to take up careers in the teaching profession.


The president also approved the building of low cost houses for teachers in rural areas, expansion of annual Presidential Teachers and Schools Excellence Award to cover more categories and for outstanding winners to be considered for National Awards and National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) awards.
“I have also ordered that there should be free tuition and automatic admission for biological children of teachers in their respective schools to encourage and retain them in the system,” the President said.
“I have directed the Minister of Education to ensure accelerated implementation of these policies and measures in collaboration with states and local governments, office of head of service of the federation, national salaries, income and wages commission, and other relevant agencies.”

President, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Dr. Nasir Idris, in his remarks, described the packages as special teachers day gift from the President.
He assured him that more contributions would come from the teachers as regards the development of Nigeria.
A teacher from Amoye Grammar School, Ikere Ekiti, Ekiti State, Asubiojo Henry Olaoluwa, was crowned as the best public secondary school teacher in Nigeria.
Also, Aliyu Alhasan from IPDI, Minna and Akpan Eno from St. Joseph’s CRS school, Iboko Offot, Uyo emerged first and second runners-up, respectively in the 2020 public school teachers award category.

No Comments

Post A Comment